First tank-current

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

davidkm7

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I'm very new to this whole fish thing, but I've done quite a bit of reading. I have a ten gallon tank and "detoxified it", but when I added two neon tetras last night, I noted that there seemed to be a current. They stayed in one corner of the cage, but eventually swam around to the rest of the tank. This morning I woke up to turn the light on and feed them for the first time and found one dead, wedged in the bottom of the filter. The other one seems to dying as well. Could the current be too strong for this particular species of fish? I bought a Tetra Aqua Care 10 gallon starter kit with a Whisper filter (suction cup model). Thanks for the help.

Welcome to AA! Happy to help.
Would advise not getting any more fish until a few things have been sorted out. Have you read anything on cycling your tank? Do you have a liquid test kit? What temp is the tank and how did you 'detoxify' it?
If you re willing to take it slow and tweak a few things, you ll be on the road to being a successful aquarist, we all started right where you are, for me it was a year ago. Best of luck :)

Oh & not sure about the current, there are many things you can do tho to modify that. But, let's focus on water quality for now.
But, for instance, you can put a foam under your outflow, or make a diffuser from a hose ( the clear type used for hot tubs , purchased by the foot at a Lowes or Home Depot type store). I can send you a pic of how I set mine up later if you re interested.