Fish transport question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Huro

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi everyone,

So I am wondering if fish would survive a 8-11 hour drive, someone at a lfs told me that with a large bag filled with oxygen that it may be possible but I have never tried before and would like to know what you guys think?. I ask because these fish cannot be shipped from the store.

I travel all the time with my fish, I move a lot because of my job. I usually travel from Ohio to Maine and back to Ohio, a 1200 mile trip, usually 2 days.

I travel with a regular cooler filled with 1/2 their water from tank and 1/2 new clean water.

For species that are delicate ( can't withstand bumping) I have them in small (1 gallon) plastic clean trash cans. These include my Pea Puffer and bumblebee gobys in 1 trash can. My bristlenose plecos are in another small trash can because their hard fins can cut other fish during movement. My shrimps that can jump are placed in large, padded mason jars with holes punched out for air exchange and are covered with a lid because they can jump out.

The movement of the vehicle will give you oxygen exchange with the water. When I stop overnight at a hotel, I place air lines in each container in the hotel room.

I also carry a thermometer and check the temperature every time I stop for gas.

I have traveled in the winter and summer months. During all my travels...I only lost 1 fish and I assumed it was because he was old and the stress got him. I have traveled with newly hatch fry also with no problem.

I hope this helps, Don't hesitate to ask me any questions..as I have a large amount of fish of various species...I have 4 aquariums with various environments.

I ship fish all the time on 2-3 day trips. If your fish bags aren't crammed with fish, they should be fine.