Noob with a 20 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Beemud

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello

I am got an aquarium from my birthday a few years ago... I wanted to get a lizard but things didn't work out but I kept the tank. Its a 20 gallon and I decided I could use a hobby and a pet. As I am brand new to fish, in general, I was wondering if anyone could lend me a few ideas for freshwater fish that are easy to take care of or good to start out with. I would like something active and preferably have a school of them but I am very flexible.

I forgot to add I live in central Wisconsin... so it can get very cold in the winter

Thank you for any and all help

Last edited:
Hi Beemud

As a newcomer i cant stress enough that you know about tank cycling. It will reduce so much stress and heartache if you know the basics of that up front.

Cycling is basically the method of growing beneficial bacteria in the tank, particularly the filter, to process the fish waste (ammonia) into less harmful products (nitrates).

In general there are 2 methods.

A fish in cycle starts with a few, hardy fish and lots of water changes, until the tank has enough beneficial bacteria to support them. Then a few more fish etc etc.

A fishless cycle, you add ammonia to the tank without fish to artificially replicate the conditions of fish waste to grow the beneficial bacteria before you add fish.

I never knew I had to do any of this so its good to learn before I put some poor fishies to their graves by mistake... thank you all I'll get started on this right away