Water weisteria

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stephen12

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My water weisteria is havering problems. I am new to live plants in my tank, so I thought I would try it out in my 10 gallon before I move it over to my 55. However my weisteria plants leave's are turning brown near the bottom of the plant. I am not sure what to do. I have tried pruning them, increasing water changes and rubbing the leaves. This has helped some, but not as much as I would like. If anyone knows how to fix this please let me know.

Attachments

• image-1937459791.jpg
    image-1937459791.jpg
    183.2 KB · Views: 98
I haven't had much luck with them in the past. I think I should have been using some fertilizer. I just bought some and a bottle of API fertilizer, (Best deal for the money. It treats almost 500 gallons)

Try getting some root tabs or liquid fertilizer, or even both. They are suppose to be low maintenance plants, but I think they need that extra fertilizer.

I haven't had much luck with them in the past. I think I should have been using some fertilizer. I just bought some and a bottle of API fertilizer, (Best deal for the money. It treats almost 500 gallons)

Try getting some root tabs or liquid fertilizer, or even both. They are suppose to be low maintenance plants, but I think they need that extra fertilizer.

They are heavy root feeders so like you suggested root tabs are the way to go. Mine wouldn't grow no matter what I tried until I put root tabs underneath them and then the growth exploded.

A second note is that the API leaf zone fertilizer that I'm assuming you bought isn't very useful. It is nothing but potassium and iron but plants need way more than that.

The lower branches could be dead due to low lighting