I had to euthanize my 1st fish today, and I feel awful.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mpwallace1

Aquarium Advice Activist
I’m new to the hobby, so this is a 1st for me. I came home today from work, and I saw one (male) of my 6 albino cherry barbs hanging upside down in a patch of java moss, and barely moving in my 45 gallon community tank. He was no longer bright orange like the other 2. I’ve had them for 7 months and I’ve never seen any bullying. There were 3 males and 3 females. I immediately did an API water test, and the ammonia was probably 1/2 way between .25 (the first green bar) and zero. PH has always faithfully been 7.4 so I didn’t test. No nitrates or nitrites, so no problem there. No sign of ich, no fungus,no fin or scale issues, no nothing. I not only didn’t think he was going to make it, but even though I have a 10 gallon tank I could have fired up as a hospital tank, I didn’t know what I was treating. I got a few meds I bought for emergencies but which one.
I was easily able to grab him with the net though he tried. Well I made a decision I need to do the inevitable because I didn’t want to possibly contaminate the other community fish. I’ve already done some research about the fastest method and a vet recommended decapitation, and not the lingering freezing in the freezer, or alka-seltzer. So I urgently put him in a paper towel, folded it over and sadly cut in front of my thumb where I marked directly behind his gills and looked the other way.
Non of the other fish have issues, and I usually keep my water impeccable. Regardless I did a 40% water change, put in some stress guard, and took a deep breath.
My question is, could I have handled this better or differently under the circumstances?